Six Local Communicators Win Prestigious Silver Quill Awards

10 Jul 2010, by Kate Hardman, ABC in IABC/SD News

The International Association of Business Communicators (IABC) recently named Silver Quill award winners from 19 states of its Pacific Plains Region—six San Diego residents are among the winners. Silver Quill awards recognize excellence in business communication and programs that boost revenue, save cost, rally employees or otherwise contribute to the success of an organization. Award winners, listed below, will be honored at the IABC Regional Conference in Palo Alto in October.

Awards of Excellence:

  • One award to Stephanie Grant, Scripps Health for Media Relations Category (Wellness PR campaign)
  • Two awards to Laura Shanley and Geeta Chinai, Qualcomm for Employee Communication and Publications Categories (Annual Report About People)
  • One award to Stephanie Grant, Scripps Health for Issues Management and Crisis Communication Category (“The Flu Stops with You” campaign)

Awards of Merit:

  • Two awards to Mark Hershberger, Mail Boxes, Etc. for Social Responsibility and Employee Communication Categories (Mail Boxes, Etc. Community Communications campaign)
  • One award to Barry Pawelek, California American Water for Customer Relations Category (California Conservation campaign)
  • One award to Emily Cox, San Diego Police Officers Association for Employee Communication (The Informant newsletter)

“It’s an exciting time to be a communicator in San Diego,” says Stephanie Grant, manager of corporate communications at Scripps Health and president of IABC San Diego. “The IABC San Diego chapter continues to grow and we will host the IABC World Conference in June 2011, which is expected to draw nearly 2,000 communicators from around the world.”

The Silver Quill competition invites business communicators throughout IABC’s Pacific Plains Region to participate. The region includes: Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, South Dakota, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming. Judges from across the country evaluated entries on strategy, effectiveness and creativity to determine this year’s Silver Quill winners.