April 22, 2022

IABC/San Diego Names La Monica Everett-Haynes 2022 Communicator of the Year

IABC/San Diego Names La Monica Everett-Haynes 2022 Communicator of the Year

IABC/San Diego Names La Monica Everett-Haynes 2022 Communicator of the Year

IABC SD Communicator of the Year 2022: La Monica Everett-Haynes, PhD

IABC/San Diego was thrilled to select La Monica Everett-Haynes, PhD, Associate VP and Chief Communications Officer for strategic communications and public affairs at San Diego State University, as our 2022 Communicator of the Year.

La Monica exemplifies what it takes to be a communications professional and is a shining example of what it means to be IABC/San Diego’s 2022 Communicator of the Year. With more than 20 years of experience, La Monica is a strategic communicator and trusted leader recognized for her commitment to compassion, diversity and community. She believes that the full power of the organization begins with its people and the collaborative culture they cultivate.

“This award is such a tremendous honor and I have such gratitude for IABC for recognizing and celebrating my work,” La Monica said. “The role and responsibilities of communications professionals, especially those in large and service-oriented organizations, have become strikingly complex and increasingly important as there are a growing range of issues to which communicators must be attentive and responsive. Every day, I reflect on how I can be better for myself, for my team and for the diverse communities we serve at SDSU.”

Her responsibilities include overseeing internal and external communications, marketing and media relations efforts, as well as social media, guidance and consultation in issues management and crisis communications.

Prior to SDSU, she spent 10 years at the University of Arizona serving as senior communications manager and assistant director of new editorial. Before working in academia, Everett-Haynes was a newspaper reporter, primarily covering law enforcement and education at the Tucson Citizen. While on a Hearst Fellowship (2002-2004), she worked at the Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Beaumont Enterprise and Houston Chronicle.

La Monica joins a group of esteemed previous IABC Communicator of the Year recipients including: Sarah Bilyeu-2021; Kate Griffin-2020; Mike Godfrey-2019; Margie Newman-2018; Lisa Hunter-2017; Anna Davison-2016; Marilyn Olson-2015; Cason Lane-2014.